Achieving more for nature

Lincolnshire landscapes

Take a virtual tour of Greater Lincolnshire and discover the natural and geological features of your area, as well as local conservation projects taking place near you.

Authority areas

Greater Lincolnshire has a vast area of almost 7000km2, and is the second largest ceremonial county in England. The modern county of Lincolnshire is further divided into five district council areas (East Lindsey, North Kesteven, South Holland, South Kesteven and West Lindsey), one borough council (Boston) and one city council (Lincoln). Together the unitary authorities of North and North East Lincolnshire Councils and the Lincolnshire County Council there are 10 authorities with decisions to make regarding planning and conserving nature.

Each of these authority areas has its own unique identity that is determined by the nature, landscape and the communities within them.

Boston and South Holland are reliant on agriculture, with their network of drains and rivers and fertile soils. These two districts also border The Wash, an internationally important area for birds. Further north East Lindsey is dominated by the rolling landscape of the Wolds and long sandy beaches, both of which are important for tourism and nature.

Along the Humber Estuary, also an internationally significant site, there are a number of important sites for wildlife, including coastal mudflats in North East Lincolnshire and plant-rich drains and acid peatland sites in North Lincolnshire.

To the west, the limestone hills and road verges of North and South Kesteven are proving a valuable grassland resource, while West Lindsey has some rich heath and woodland sites to be proud of. The commons and greenspace with the City of Lincoln are also surprisingly rich in wildlife and provide untold health benefits for the people who live around them.